Haitian Patties

Before officially starting on this quest, I’d like to revisit some of my favorite foods and say goodbye to them.  Okay, I know there are healthier versions of many of our favorite “bad” foods.  But there’s just no way anyone can make a healthy Haitian beef patty.  Down the line I plan to look healthier versions of my favorite foods.  But for now, I’m going to indulge in them as they are and say goodbye.  I’ll devote seven days to this goodbye tour starting with:

Sunday:  Haitian patties

I love Haitian patties.  When I was growing up in Haiti, our baked patties were usually filled with ground beef or cod fish.  And our fried patties were either filled with ground beef or smoked herring.  Now in America, Haitian bakers fill patties with not only ground beef or codfish, but also with chicken or even vegetables.  Whatever they’re filled with, what makes Haitian patties delicious depends on who makes them. 

There’s a Haitian bakery near my home that makes pretty good patties.

Why I love Haitian these patties:

First there’s the dough.  Yes I said the dough.  The outside is crunchy.  The inside consists of layers.  The center is where the filling is.  Mmmm…delicious.