Goodbye Tour–Day 2 

Ever read magazines the studies that come out about new and revolutionary ways to lose weight?  I was reading a magazine recently about how vinegar is supposed to supercharge weight loss.  The magazine suggested that someone drinking two tablespoons of vinegar a day can lose up to seven pounds in seven days. 

Among the many things I’ve done to lose weight, the “vinegar diet” was one of them.  Did I lose seven pounds in seven days?  No.  I gained heartburn.  I probably gained some weight from all the peanut butter I ate.  (I’ve convinced myself that peanut butter helps to soothe heartburn.) 

While I can’t tell anyone not to try the “vinegar diet,” I will not be doing that again.  It might have worked for the smiling people in the magazine, but it did not work for me. 

If it worked for you, however, let me know about it.

The second food on my goodbye tour is Mac and cheese with Haitian meatballs.  I’m not too crazy about my own meatballs but every meatball I’ve eaten that was cooked by a Haitian person, other than myself, has been oh so good.  There’s a restaurant not far from me which sells the best Haitian food I’ve ever had that was not homemade.

Why I love these meatballs:  They’re big.  They’re crunchy on the outside and tender on the inside.  And they’re absolutely delicious.

The Mac and cheese is good too.  But Mac n’ cheese does not have to be made any special way for me to like it.  It could be from a box and I’d love it, provided I fix it up a bit.